Tag Archives: The Melvins

The Melvins Cover Venom, Bowie and Queen On “Everybody Loves Sausages”

24 Apr


Everybody might not love sausages, but everyone definitely loves the Melvins.

DJ Cherrybomb

On Tuesday, the Melvins started streaming their new record online, Everybody Loves Sausages. From start to finish, the band brings it’s A-game to the album’s menagerie of metal, alt, pop and classic rock cover tracks. Sausages kicks off with a snarling homage to Venom, thanks to Scott Kelly of Neurosis on vocals, and the track “Warheadfrom Venom’s 1984 album, At War With Satan. The record then continues on it’s noisy upward spiral with classic covers from Queen, an indulgent 11+ minute cover of Bowie’sStation to Station” with J.G. Thirwell of Foetus on vocals, and 1979 Kinks track, “Attitude“. When it comes to Attitude, the Melvins simply own it. Much like Johnny Cash did when he covered the likes of Soundgarden and Nine Inch Nails.

Other non-Melvin members appearing on Sausages include Mark Arm of Mudhoney, who supplied the vocals for “Set it on Fire” from Aussie band Scientists, and Jello Biafra on the track “In Every Dream Home a Heartache“, originally done by Roxy Music. Obscurity proves to be the Melvins’ friend when they take on early 80’s Sacramento band, Tales of Terror. The band only put out one self-titled record in 1984, but their crunchy, junkie business brand of raunch & roll lives on in future sounds from Green River and Nirvana.

As we keep rolling along the obscure/bizarre musical train track with the Melvins, we arrive at the year 1974, and the bands cover of “Female Trouble” by Divine. According to Buzzo, John Waters has always been a huge influence for the band. Recorded on Christmas day in 2011, Buzzo sounds more like fellow weirdo Tom Waits than himself. Which only elevates the heavy darkness of the three-minute track. Sausages is a record as diverse as it is divey, loud and fuzzy.

Also included in the online album stream is some great commentary by the king of metal and hair, King Buzzo himself. Listen and read along as Buzzo talks you the through each track over at Spin. The band’s 30th anniversary summer tour kicks off on July 12th in Phoenix.

Full track listing follows.

1. ‘Warhead’ (Venom; Guest: Scott Kelly of Neurosis)
2. ‘Best Friend’ (Queen; Guest: Caleb Benjamin of Tweak Bird)
3. ‘Black Betty’ (Original artist unknown)
4. ‘Set It on Fire’ (The Scientists; Guest: Mark Arm)
5. ‘Station to Station’ (David Bowie; Guest: JG Thirlwell)
6. ‘Attitude’ (The Kinks: Guest: Clem Burke of Blondie)
7. ‘Female Trouble’ (Divine a.k.a. John Waters)
8. ‘Carpe Diem’ (The Fugs)
9. ‘Timothy Leary Lives’ (Pop-O-Pies)
10. ‘In Every Dream Home a Heartache’ (Roxy Music; Guests: Jello Biafra and Kevin Rutmanis)
11. ‘Romance’ (Tales of Terror)
12. ‘Art School’ (The Jam; Guest: Tom Hazelmeyer)
13. ‘Heathen Earth’ (Throbbing Gristle)