Tag Archives: Record Store Day 2013

Notable Hard Rock And Metal Record Store Day 2013 Releases

26 Mar


It’s that time of year again when audiophiles, vinyl junkies, and collectors across the country wake up early on a Saturday morning (for once), camp out outside their favorite Independent record store,hoping that they might get their hands on a few of the coveted vinyl releases that will be coming out on April 20th. Otherwise known as the 6th annual Record Store Day 2013.

Below are a few of the more metal from the massive RSD list this year. I also did an expanded list on Cherrybombed.com, where you can see everything I think you gotta have this year. It wasn’t easy, but here it is.

Now, onto the harder, faster rockers, set to hit the shelves of your favorite record store this year. Check here to see a list of participating shops in your zip code. Record Store Day is April 20th!


Earache Records’ contribution to RSD this year is something they call “The Worlds Shortest Album”. Clocking in a only 83 seconds, the mini-5″ vinyl comes in a 12″ gate fold sleeve. The shorand brutally metal track listing follows:

Side A:
01. Napalm Death – You Suffer (1.9s)
02. Napalm Death – Dead (2.7s)
03. Napalm Death – Your Achievement (4.2s)
04. Wormrot – False Grind Sodomy (2.5s)
05. Wormrot – You Suffer But Why Is It My Problem (4.0s)
06. Brutal Truth – Collateral Damage (4.0s)
07. A.C. – Howard Wulkan’s Bald (4.0s)

Side B:
01. Lawnmower Deth – Be Scene Not Heard (4.7s)
02. Painkiller – Trailmarker (6.0s)
03. Brutal Truth – Blockhead (7.3s)
04. Morbid Angel – Bil Ur-Sag #2 Lava (6.9s)
05. A.C. – Windchimes Are Gay (9.5s)
06. Insect Warfare – Street Sweeper (13.5s)


Dio – Magica Picture Disc

Another Record Store Day thankfully means its time for another completely evil Dio picture disc. 2000’s Magica, was Dio’s first concept record. I can’t say enough about the art on these Dio discs, except for that they are even more amazing in person. Dio’s classic track Holy Diver does double duty, as the chosen cover for another RSD’s 7″ Side by Side with Killswitch Engage. Making this one even more metal is it’s pressing on opaque, ox-blood red vinyl.


Misfits/The Lemmonheads: “Skulls” Side By Side.

Something RSD is doing this year is a “Side By Side 7”. The release pairs a recording of an original classics on the A. side, with a cover of the original on the B. side.  This Side by Side has the Misfits and The Lemonheads, going head-to-head with the track “Skulls”. The track does double duty on the 7″ picture disc (above), with the Misfits version from 1982 on Side A., and The Lemonheads cover version from 1991.

7 Picture Disc [GD17PD]

Testament –  Dark Roots cover 7′ picture disc.

This 7″ picture disc from Testament has the band banging out two very metal covers, from two other, equally metal bands. Side A. has Chuck Billy and the boys doing The Scorpions proud with a title-track cover from their 1980 record, “Animal Magnetism“. Side B. features Testament’s take on another title track, 1983’s “Powerslave” from Iron Maiden.


Mad Season – Above (Expanded edition)

This 180 gram vinyl, expanded edition of the only Mad Season record, 1995 ‘s Above, will get it’s exclusive release as a double-LP on RSD. Included on the expanded edition are  three songs from the unfinished second Mad Season album with new vocals and lyrics by Mark Lanegan. There is also a previously unreleased instrumental “Interlude”, and a remixed version of John Lennon’s “I Don’t Wanna Be a Soldier.”


Aerosmith: Reissues of: Aerosmith, Toys in the Attic, and Get Your Wings.

Aerosmith is reissuing three records form their early catalog, their self-titled debutToys in the Attic, and Get Your Wings, all on 180 gram vinyl. If you only pick up one, my money would be on the bands first, blues-riddled release from 1973.


Soundgarden – King Animal Demos 10″

Soundgarden is releasing a few of the demo version of songs from their latest record, King Animal. Track listing follows:

Bones of Birds (demo), By Crooked Steps (demo), Halfway There (demo), Worse Dreams (demo), Black Saturday (demo), A Thousand Days Before (demo)


Wolvhammer and Atlas Moth 7″ Split.

This RSD exclusive split 7” features the heavy sounds of two Chicago metal bands. The originally appeared on a comp soundtrack on CD for the book DTV written by Andrew Bonazelli of Decibel Magazine. Init Records and the bands thought it would be cool to put these two covers out again on a limited 7” with new artwork by Stavros Giannopoulos (THE ATLAS MOTH), for a limited Record Store Day release. Pressed on color vinyl, and limited to 500 copies total; Side A – The Atlas Moth -“Black Trees(a cover of a Horray for Earth original); Side B – Wovhammer – “Burn” (formerly done by The Cure for The Crow soundtrack).


Golden Void – Rise to the Out of Reach b/w Smiling Raven 7

Both of the tracks on from San Fransisco’s Golden Void 7″ are brand new, and will get their exclusive release on Record Store Day 2013. After digging on the bands 2012 debut (the vocals on the record are very Ozzy/Sabbath era so do the math. Golden Void = Awesome), it’s truly excellent metal news that more sonic sounds from Golden Void are on their way.


Akimbo – Live To Crush.

This is the final release from Seattle heavy metal riff masters, Akimbo. The band disbanded in the fall 2012, but recorded one final skull-crushing record, Live To Crush, numbered, and limited to 500. Track listing follows:

1. The Fucking French!
2. Southern Hospitality
3. A Real Barn Burner
4. Weasel Rope
5. The Retard Blues
6. I Am Very Successful
7. Equal Opportunity Asshole
8. Acid Grandma
9. Building A Body


Dust: Dust/Hard Attack.

Dust was called the first “American Heavy Metal Bands”. Formed around 1969, the Brooklyn trio was also the first band of Marky Ramone (Ramones, Voidoid). This RSD release features both of Dust’s records on 12″ vinyl. The self-titled “Dust” (1971), and “Hard Attack” ,(1972). Members of Dust went on to play with with artist like Richard Hell, Joan Jett, Kiss, and Brian Setzer. Dust is easily the most bad-ass, proto-rock band you never heard of from New York.

You can see the full list of all the releases for Record Store Day this year, via RSD’s official site. And while you’re at it, check out the excellent vinyl for sale in the archives of Purple Dog Records.